Beacon: A line of code which is used by a website or third party ad server to track a user's activity, such as a registration or conversion. A web beacon is often invisible because it is only 1x1 pixel in size with no color.

Behavior Targeting: A technique used by online publishers and advertisers to increase the effectiveness of their campaigns. Behavioral targeting uses information collected on an individual's web browsing behavior such as the pages they have visited or the searches they have made to select which advertisements to be displayed to that individual. Practitioners believe this helps them deliver their online advertisements to the users who are most likely to be influenced by them.

Calls: When a publisher makes an ad query to SpotXchange's system within the parameters that the publisher sets in their channel profile.

Channel: A band of similar content; within the SpotXchange network, publishers set up a channel for each URL address that will be sending ad queries to the system.

Companion Banner: A banner ad which accompanies a video ad and provides viewers an additional opportunity to click through to the click-thru URL. The most common size for a companion banner is 300x250, but all IAB approved sizes are acceptable.

Contextual Targeting: Targeting an individual based on a subject of particular interest to them; displaying ads on sites related specifically to the content the individual is viewing on a webpage.

Conversion Rate: Ratio of visitors who convert casual content views or website visits into desired actions based on subtle or direct requests from marketers, advertisers, and content creators.

Cookie: A small piece of information (i.e. program code) that is stored on a browser for the purpose of identifying that browser during audience activity and between visits or sessions.

Coverage: When SpotXchange answers a publisher's call or 'ad query' with a video advertisement that matches the publisher's predetermined parameters.

CPC (Cost-per-click): Cost of advertising based on the number of clicks received.

CPM (Cost-per-thousand): Media term describing the cost of 1,000 impressions. For example, a website that charges $1,500 per ad and reports 100,000 visits has a CPM of $15 ($1,500 divided by 100).

CTR (Click-thru-rate): Ratio of ad clicks to valid impressions.

Default Tag (Redirect Tags): When a publisher works with more than one ad network they have the option to setup default tags (aka redirect tags). If they send an ad query to 'Network A' and 'Network A' responds with no_ad_available, the default tag directs that query to 'Network B' for an ad, and so on. This helps to bring the publisher closer to 100% coverage.

Demographics: Common characteristics used for population or audience segmentation, such as age, gender, household income, etc.

Effective CPM (eCPM): A measurement of the effectiveness of a publisher's inventory being sold. eCPM is measured by dividing total earnings by total number of impressions in thousands.

Exchange-Based Marketplace: A virtual marketplace where advertisers bid on a publishers site directly based on inventory, demographics, content, performance, geography, etc. and in exchange publishers allow the advertiser's video ad to play before their content.

Frequency Cap: The maximum number of times an ad can be delivered to the same browser in a single session or time period. A site can use cookies in order to manage ad frequency.

Geotargeting: Displaying (or preventing the display of) content based on automated or assumed knowledge of an end user's position in the real world. Relevant to both PC and mobile data services.

IAB (Interactive Advertising Bureau): IAB is a non-profit trade association devoted exclusively to maximizing the use and effectiveness of interactive advertising and marketing; www.iab.net.

In-Banner Video: 300 x 250 video banners that auto play, muted.  Once a user clicks to interact with the ad, it plays from the beginning with sound.

Minimum Channel Bid: The minimum cost (CPM) advertisers must pay to buy traffic on a publisher's channel.

Minimum Network Bid: The minimum cost (CPM) advertisers must pay to buy traffic on ads that are not targeted to specific channels, but may be targeted against geographic regions or content categories.

Performance-Based Video Advertising: An advertising model in which advertisers pay based on a set of agreed upon performance criteria, such as a percentage of online revenues or delivery of new sales leads.

Retargeting: The process of anonymously observing consumers' behaviors while they are visiting a specific website and then targeting messages to those consumers after they leave the site based on whether or not they completed a desired action, thus improving the chance of a sale.

Run of Network: The scheduling of Internet advertising whereby an ad network positions ads across the sites it represents at its own discretion, according to available inventory. The advertiser usually forgoes premium positioning in exchange for more advertising weight at a lower CPM.

Site Index Score: A measure of how a given metric compares to an average, such as the average U.S. internet user. If a site indexes 100 in visitors aged 12-17, that means a given visitor to it is as likely to be aged 12-17 as any U.S. internet user chosen at random. An index of 200 means the visitor is twice as likely to be a aged 12-17. The higher the index, the better the site is at attracting that type of audience.

Uniques: Number of unique users who access a Web site within a specific time period.

Valid Impressions: SpotXchange considers an impression to be valid upon first frame delivery.

 
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